APY Ledger

Best credit union CD rates in Virginia

Justice Federal Credit Union has the highest APY in this tracked sample of 15 institutions: 5.35% APY for 9 months, verified October 22, 2026.

These institutions list Virginia in their operating coverage. Regional quotes apply only to the displayed ZIP, not the entire state. Only credit unions are included; share certificates are the credit union equivalent of bank CDs, and membership requirements differ by institution. Nationwide credit unions appear alongside local ones. We show each institution's highest matching APY, rather than an exhaustive market ranking. All quotes were verified within the last seven days. Membership, new-money and relationship requirements may apply; confirm eligibility and terms with the institution.

Best credit union CD rates in Virginia — highest matching APY per institution
InstitutionTerm / productMinimumWho can openAPYVerified / evidence
Justice Federal Credit Union 9 months9-Month Special Certificate · Relationship$100,000 Membership required · branches in 9 states 5.35%October 22, 2026 Source text
Truliant Federal Credit Union 12 monthsLimited-Time 12 Month Term (new external funds required) · Promotional$5,000 Membership required · branches in NC, SC, VA 5.00%October 22, 2026 Source text
NASA Federal Credit Union 49 monthsShare Certificate - 49 Month Special · Promotional$10,000 Membership required · branches in DC, MD, VA 4.55%October 22, 2026 Source text
Hanscom Federal Credit Union 12 monthsShare Certificate · Standard$1,000 Membership required · branches in CA, MA, MD, VA 4.50%October 22, 2026 Source text
Langley Federal Credit Union 60 months60 Month Certificate · Standard$500 Membership required · branches in NC, VA 4.50%October 22, 2026 Source text
Northwest Federal Credit Union 13 monthsSavings Momentum Certificate · Promotional$1,000 Membership required · branches in MD, VA 4.50%October 22, 2026 Source text
Andrews Federal Credit Union 15 monthsSpecial 15-Month Share Certificate · Promotional$500 Membership required · branches in DC, MD, NJ, VA 4.40%October 22, 2026 Source text
Navy Federal Credit Union 12 monthsSpecial EasyStart Certificate · Promotional$50 Membership required · branches in 33 states 4.35%October 22, 2026 Source text
BCU (Baxter Credit Union) 15 monthsNew Money CD Specials - Regular · PromotionalNot stated Membership required · branches in 15 states 4.30%October 22, 2026 Source text
Eastman Credit Union 180 daysInvestment Certificate (Jumbo) · Standard$100,000 Membership required · branches in TN, TX, VA 4.25%October 22, 2026 Source text
PenAir Credit Union 17 monthsCertificate Account · StandardNot stated Membership required · branches in AL, FL, VA 4.20%October 22, 2026 Source text
Northrop Grumman Federal Credit Union 36 monthsBonus Certificate · Promotional$40,000 Membership required · branches in 10 states 4.17%October 22, 2026 Source text
1st Advantage Federal Credit Union 8 monthsShare Certificate (with direct deposit) · Relationship$500 Membership required · branches in VA 4.00%October 22, 2026 Source text
PenFed Credit Union 60 monthsMoney Market Certificate · Promotional$1,000 Nationwide · membership required 3.50%October 22, 2026 Source text
United States Senate Federal Credit Union 60 monthsSmart Share Certificate · Standard$200,000 Membership required · branches in DC, VA 3.10%October 22, 2026 Source text

Other Virginia institutions we don't verify yet

These banks and credit unions serve Virginia, but we do not publish their rates, so they are not ranked above. Check their current rates on their own websites.

Compare with public benchmarks

The highest tracked quote is 5.35% APY for 9 months. The Treasury APY-equivalent for a similar term is 4.48% (2026-10-21). The FDIC national average for a similar term is 1.39% (2026-10-19). Benchmark terms may differ; Treasury interest is exempt from state income tax.

Common questions

Which institution has the highest tracked rate?

Justice Federal Credit Union has the highest APY in this tracked sample of 15 institutions: 5.35% APY for 9 months, verified October 22, 2026.

Who can open these CDs or share certificates?

Check the displayed minimum deposit and location. Credit union membership, new-money and relationship requirements may apply; confirm terms with the institution.

How current are these rates?

Every quote in this collection was verified within the last seven days. Source snapshots and verification dates appear in the table; rates may change before you open an account.

Related pages

Calculate CD interest · Compare CD and Treasury returns after tax · Recent rate changes