APY Ledger

Best CD Rates Today

The best CD rate we found today for terms around 1 year (8–14 months) is 5.35% APY on a 9-month CD at Justice Federal Credit Union. The 1-year Treasury yield is 4.57% and the FDIC national average for 1-year CDs is 1.76%.

We read the CD rates published on 446 banks' and credit unions' own websites every day, check each number twice, and link every rate to its source. Last update 1 hours ago.

Best CD rates around 1 year (8–14 months)

#InstitutionTermMinimumAPYvs. Treasury
1Justice Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in 9 states9 months$100,0005.35%+0.87%
2Del Norte Credit UnionMembership required · branches in NM13 months$100,0005.23%+0.63%
3Community First Credit UnionMembership required · branches in WI10 months$5,0005.05%+0.54%
4Capital Credit Union (Wisconsin)Membership required · branches in WI10 months$5,0005.00%+0.49%
5Frankenmuth Credit UnionMembership required · branches in MI8 months$5005.00%+0.55%
6Tower Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in MD274 days$100,0005.00%+0.52%
7Truliant Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in NC, SC, VA12 months$5,0005.00%+0.43%
8TVA Credit UnionMembership required · branches in TN12 months$2,5005.00%+0.43%
9T Bank (Dallas)Branches in TX12 months$1,0004.70%+0.13%
10Happen BankBranches in CA, UT11 months$5004.65%+0.11%

Compare exact 1-year CD rates across all tracked institutions.

1-year Treasury4.57%APY-equivalent, Oct 21, 2026
6-month Treasury4.40%state-tax-free
National average 1-year CD1.76%FDIC, Oct 19, 2026
Inflation (CPI)3.7%year over year, Sep 2026

Compare rates by exact term and state · See recent CD rate changes

Best CD rates around 3 months (2–3 months)

#InstitutionTermMinimumAPYvs. Treasury
1Newtek BankBranches in FL3 months$2,5004.60%+0.30%
2AmeriCU Credit UnionMembership required · branches in NY3 months$504.50%+0.21%
3Dow Credit UnionMembership required · branches in MI3 months$5004.35%+0.05%
4Popular DirectAvailable nationwide3 months$10,0004.30%+0.00%
5Climate First BankBranches in FL3 months$5004.26%−0.04%
6Great Lakes Credit Union (Illinois)Membership required · branches in IL100 days$1,0004.25%−0.07%
7Poppy BankBranches in CA3 months$1,0004.25%−0.04%
8FirsTier BankBranches in CO, NE, WY3 monthsNot stated4.14%−0.16%
9Bask BankAvailable nationwide3 months$1,0004.10%−0.20%
10University of Michigan Credit UnionMembership required · branches in MI3 months$5004.06%−0.24%

Compare exact 3-month CD rates across all tracked institutions.

Best CD rates around 6 months (4–7 months)

#InstitutionTermMinimumAPYvs. Treasury
1Justice Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in 9 states6 months$100,0005.20%+0.80%
2Community First Credit UnionMembership required · branches in WI5 months$5,0005.05%+0.66%
3Empower Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in NY6 months$5005.00%+0.60%
4First Commonwealth Federal Credit Union (Pennsylvania)Membership required · branches in NJ, PA5 months$5005.00%+0.61%
5Wings Credit Union (formerly Ent)Membership required · branches in CO, FL, GA, MI, MN, WI6 months$254.80%+0.40%
6First Bank of the LakeBranches in MO7 months$1,0004.55%+0.12%
7AmeriCU Credit UnionMembership required · branches in NY6 months$504.50%+0.10%
8Coastal States BankBranches in GA, SC7 months$1,0004.50%+0.07%
9Genisys Credit UnionMembership required · branches in MI, MN7 months$5004.50%+0.07%
10iQ Credit UnionMembership required · branches in OR, WA7 monthsNot stated4.50%+0.07%

Compare exact 6-month CD rates across all tracked institutions.

Best CD rates around 2 years (15–29 months)

#InstitutionTermMinimumAPYvs. Treasury
1Tower Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in MD24 months$5005.20%+0.33%
2Kirtland Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in NM18 months$5005.12%+0.40%
3Community First Credit UnionMembership required · branches in WI15 months$5,0005.05%+0.40%
4Newtek BankBranches in FL24 months$50,0005.00%+0.13%
5Bread SavingsAvailable nationwide18 months$1,5004.85%+0.13%
6E*TRADE (Morgan Stanley Private Bank)Available nationwide24 monthsNot stated4.80%−0.07%
7Popular DirectAvailable nationwide24 months$10,0004.80%−0.07%
8Happen BankBranches in CA, UT24 months$5004.76%−0.11%
9BarclaysAvailable nationwide24 monthsNot stated4.75%−0.12%
10Genesee Regional BankBranches in NY24 months$5004.75%−0.12%

Compare exact 2-year CD rates across all tracked institutions.

Best CD rates around 5 years (4–5½ years)

#InstitutionTermMinimumAPYvs. Treasury
1Tower Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in MD60 months$20,0005.05%+0.04%
2Popular DirectAvailable nationwide60 months$10,0005.00%−0.01%
3Quorum Federal Credit UnionMembership required · branches in NY60 months$1005.00%−0.01%
4Seven Seventeen Credit UnionMembership required · branches in OH60 months$250,0005.00%−0.01%
5E*TRADE (Morgan Stanley Private Bank)Available nationwide60 monthsNot stated4.80%−0.21%
6BarclaysAvailable nationwide60 monthsNot stated4.75%−0.26%
7KS StateBankBranches in AZ, KS60 months$5004.75%−0.26%
8Nicolet National BankBranches in CO, FL, IA, MI, MN, WI60 months$2,5004.75%−0.26%
9Sallie Mae BankAvailable nationwide60 months$2,5004.75%−0.26%
10Bread SavingsAvailable nationwide60 months$1,5004.70%−0.31%

Compare exact 5-year CD rates across all tracked institutions.

Find your bank or credit union

Browse all 446 institutions by name, type, state or highest APY.

Common questions

What is the highest CD rate today?

5.35% APY on a 9 months CD at Justice Federal Credit Union, the highest rate in the terms we rank, verified October 22, 2026. Check the minimum deposit and eligibility before opening.

What is a good CD rate right now?

For about 1 year, the best rate we track is 5.35% APY; the 1-year Treasury yields 4.57% and the FDIC national average is 1.76%. A rate near the Treasury yield is competitive; Treasury interest is also exempt from state income tax.

Are there CDs paying 5% or more?

Yes. 15 of the 446 institutions we track publish at least one CD at 5.00% APY or higher; these are often short promotional terms, large minimums or relationship rates.

Calculators

Each list ranks CDs with terms near the heading's term, so a 9-month or 13-month CD can appear in the 1-year list; the term column shows the actual term. Exact-term pages compare only that term. "Branches in" lists branch states from FDIC or NCUA data; credit unions also require membership, so confirm eligibility before applying.

"vs. Treasury" is the CD's APY minus the Treasury yield for the same term (converted to APY). Most CDs pay less than Treasuries of the same term, so a negative number is normal. Treasury interest is exempt from state income tax, so a CD usually needs a higher rate to come out ahead — see the T-bill vs. CD calculator. Rates verified through October 22, 2026.