CD rates after bank and credit union mergers
Former brands mapped to the institution that now publishes their CD rates, with current verified quotes and insurance grace-period rules.
Which institution now publishes a former brand's CD rates?
When a bank or credit union is acquired, merged or renamed, its CD page can redirect to the surviving institution. This table maps former brands in our institution records to the institution whose current quotes we track. A current quote is a new-account offer; it does not describe the contract rate of a CD opened before the change.
| Former brand | Now tracked as | Highest fresh quote | One-year quote | What changed / source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cadence Bank | Huntington BankFDIC 6560 | 4.30% Fixed Rate CD · 13 months Minimum $1,000 · ZIP 15222 Oct 23, 2026 snapshot | 0.25% Fixed Rate CD · 12 months Minimum $1,000 · ZIP 15222 Oct 23, 2026 snapshot |
Cadence Bank merged into The Huntington National Bank on February 1, 2026, and cadencebank.com no longer publishes CD rates. This page lists current Huntington quotes for the ZIP codes checked, including markets in Mississippi, Alabama, Texas, Tennessee, Arkansas and Louisiana; existing Cadence CDs may retain different contractual terms. Source |
| Comerica Bank | Fifth Third BankFDIC 6672 | 4.15% 13 Month CD Promo · 13 months Minimum $5,000 · ZIP 33602 Oct 24, 2026 snapshot | No fresh quote | Comerica merged with Fifth Third on February 1, 2026; Fifth Third completed its technology and brand conversion in September 2026. This page lists current Fifth Third quotes for the ZIP codes checked, not historical Comerica contract rates. Source |
| Digital Federal Credit Union (DCU) | DCU (Digital Federal Credit Union)NCUA 23521 | 3.50% Regular Certificate · 12 months Minimum $500 Oct 24, 2026 snapshot | 3.50% Regular Certificate · 12 months Minimum $500 Oct 24, 2026 snapshot |
DCU and First Tech legally combined on January 1, 2026, under First Technology Federal Credit Union. They continue to operate as separate divisions during integration. This page tracks DCU quotes published at dcu.org, not all First Tech offers. Source |
| Discover Bank | Capital OneFDIC 4297 | 4.40% Special 11-month 360 CD · 11 months Minimum not stated Oct 24, 2026 snapshot | 4.00% 360 CD · 12 months Minimum not stated Oct 24, 2026 snapshot |
Capital One acquired Discover in 2025. Discover’s public CD link now leads to Capital One’s CD page. The quotes on this page are current Capital One offers; existing Discover CDs may retain different contractual terms. Source |
| Ent Credit Union | Wings Credit Union (formerly Ent)NCUA 68671 | 4.80% My Savings Builder Certificate · 6 months Minimum $25 Oct 24, 2026 snapshot | 3.85% 12 Month Certificate · 12 months Minimum $500 Oct 24, 2026 snapshot |
Ent now operates as Wings Credit Union. This page tracks the certificate quotes published at ent.com; verify terms for your account and location with the institution. Source |
Quotes are the highest fresh non-relationship quote at any term and the highest at exactly one year, across all tiers and checked ZIP codes. Check the minimum shown; a regional quote applies only to its ZIP code.
What happens to an existing CD after a merger?
A fixed-rate CD is a contract. The surviving institution's notice and your account disclosure govern its rate, maturity date and renewal terms. Today's quotes from the surviving institution matter mainly when the CD matures and renews.
Deposit insurance grace period
If you held deposits at both institutions, they stay separately insured for a time after the merger. For banks, 12 CFR 330.4(b) keeps assumed deposits separately insured for six months. A time deposit is covered until its earliest maturity date after those six months. For credit unions, 12 CFR 745.2(f) applies the same structure to shares and share certificates.
A CD that matures within the six months and renews for the same dollar amount and term stays separately insured until its first maturity after the period. A CD renewed on any other basis, or not renewed, is separately insured only until the six months end. After that, balances at the combined institution share one insurance limit per ownership category. A rename without a merger of two insured institutions does not create a grace period.
Set a maturity reminder · Model a renewal-rate change · Browse institutions
Sources, scope and methodology
All findings are generated from verified D1 records using fixed calculations and templates. No language model writes these findings. Stale and future-dated quotes are excluded, as are relationship-only quotes. A regulator ID counts once in each institution-level comparison. This tracked sample is not a deposit-weighted national average.
Index comparisons use the highest applicable $10,000 quote at each exact term per regulator. A median or P90 requires at least 30 independent institutions in its group. Fresh regional and promotional offers can be included; availability and membership conditions still apply. ZIP comparisons instead match a stated product, term and tier.
Routine re-verification does not change the financial-content modification date. Tables can change as rates, coverage or freshness change. Download index data and source snapshots · Download current rate quotes · Full methodology · Corrections
Cite APY Ledger, “CD rates after bank and credit union mergers,” facts changed 2026-10-24, https://apyledger.com/guides/bank-mergers-cd-rates. Data: CC BY 4.0.