Best credit union CD rates in North Carolina
Truliant Federal Credit Union has the highest APY in this tracked sample of 15 institutions: 5.00% APY for 12 months, verified October 22, 2026.
These institutions list North Carolina in their operating coverage. Regional quotes apply only to the displayed ZIP, not the entire state. Only credit unions are included; share certificates are the credit union equivalent of bank CDs, and membership requirements differ by institution. Nationwide credit unions appear alongside local ones. We show each institution's highest matching APY, rather than an exhaustive market ranking. All quotes were verified within the last seven days. Membership, new-money and relationship requirements may apply; confirm eligibility and terms with the institution.
| Institution | Term / product | Minimum | Who can open | APY | Verified / evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Truliant Federal Credit Union | 12 monthsLimited-Time 12 Month Term (new external funds required) · Promotional | $5,000 | Membership required · branches in NC, SC, VA | 5.00% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Advancial Federal Credit Union | 60 monthsCertificate · Standard | $1,000 | Membership required · branches in AK, LA, NC, OK, TX | 4.66% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Honda Federal Credit Union | 60 monthsSavings Certificate - Regular · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in AL, CA, IN, NC, OH, SC | 4.60% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Founders Federal Credit Union | 84 months84 Month Loyalty Certificate · Relationship | $500 | Membership required · branches in NC, SC | 4.52% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Coastal Credit Union | 60 months60-Month Certificate · Standard | $250 | Membership required · branches in NC | 4.50% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Langley Federal Credit Union | 60 months60 Month Certificate · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in NC, VA | 4.50% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Empeople Credit Union | 18 months18 Month Certificate · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in 7 states | 4.40% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Centra Credit Union | 8 monthsShare Certificate · Relationship | $500 | Membership required · branches in IN, NC, NY | 4.35% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Navy Federal Credit Union | 12 monthsSpecial EasyStart Certificate · Promotional | $50 | Membership required · branches in 33 states | 4.35% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| BCU (Baxter Credit Union) | 15 monthsNew Money CD Specials - Regular · Promotional | Not stated | Membership required · branches in 15 states | 4.30% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| State Employees' Credit Union (SECU) | 18 monthsShare Term Certificate · Standard | $250 | Membership required · branches in NC | 4.30% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| United Federal Credit Union | 7 months7 Month Special Share Certificate · Relationship | $500 | Membership required · branches in 7 states | 4.10% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Credit Human Federal Credit Union | 120 monthsShare Certificate · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in LA, NC, TX, WA | 4.05% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| REV Federal Credit Union | 9 monthsRegular Certificate - 9 Month Special · Promotional | Not stated | Membership required · branches in NC, SC, WV | 4.00% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| PenFed Credit Union | 60 monthsMoney Market Certificate · Promotional | $1,000 | Nationwide · membership required | 3.50% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
Other North Carolina institutions we don't verify yet
These banks and credit unions serve North Carolina, but we do not publish their rates, so they are not ranked above. Check their current rates on their own websites.
- Bank OZK Bank · HQ Little Rock, AR We have not found a complete CD rate table on its website that we can verify daily. Checked October 22, 2026. Current rates on www.ozk.com
- Old National Bank Bank · HQ Evansville, IN Its website blocks automated access, so we cannot verify its rates daily. Checked October 23, 2026. Current rates on www.oldnational.com
Compare with public benchmarks
The highest tracked quote is 5.00% APY for 12 months. The Treasury APY-equivalent for a similar term is 4.57% (2026-10-21). The FDIC national average for a similar term is 1.76% (2026-10-19). Benchmark terms may differ; Treasury interest is exempt from state income tax.
Common questions
Which institution has the highest tracked rate?
Truliant Federal Credit Union has the highest APY in this tracked sample of 15 institutions: 5.00% APY for 12 months, verified October 22, 2026.
Who can open these CDs or share certificates?
Check the displayed minimum deposit and location. Credit union membership, new-money and relationship requirements may apply; confirm terms with the institution.
How current are these rates?
Every quote in this collection was verified within the last seven days. Source snapshots and verification dates appear in the table; rates may change before you open an account.
Related pages
Calculate CD interest · Compare CD and Treasury returns after tax · Recent rate changes