Best credit union CD rates in California
Justice Federal Credit Union has the highest APY in this tracked sample of 32 institutions: 5.35% APY for 9 months, verified October 22, 2026.
These institutions list California in their operating coverage. Regional quotes apply only to the displayed ZIP, not the entire state. Only credit unions are included; share certificates are the credit union equivalent of bank CDs, and membership requirements differ by institution. Nationwide credit unions appear alongside local ones. We show each institution's highest matching APY, rather than an exhaustive market ranking. All quotes were verified within the last seven days. Membership, new-money and relationship requirements may apply; confirm eligibility and terms with the institution.
| Institution | Term / product | Minimum | Who can open | APY | Verified / evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Justice Federal Credit Union | 9 months9-Month Special Certificate · Relationship | $100,000 | Membership required · branches in 9 states | 5.35% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Honda Federal Credit Union | 60 monthsSavings Certificate - Regular · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in AL, CA, IN, NC, OH, SC | 4.60% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Hanscom Federal Credit Union | 12 monthsShare Certificate · Standard | $1,000 | Membership required · branches in CA, MA, MD, VA | 4.50% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| America First Credit Union | 60 monthsBump-rate Certificate Account · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in AZ, CA, ID, NM, NV, UT | 4.45% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Navy Federal Credit Union | 12 monthsSpecial EasyStart Certificate · Promotional | $50 | Membership required · branches in 33 states | 4.35% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Coast Central Credit Union | 60 monthsSavings Certificate · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in CA | 4.33% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| BCU (Baxter Credit Union) | 15 monthsNew Money CD Specials - Regular · Promotional | Not stated | Membership required · branches in 15 states | 4.30% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Los Angeles Federal Credit Union | 16 monthsShare Certificate Limited Offer - Silver Relationship or Senior Member · Promotional | Not stated | Membership required · branches in CA | 4.30% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| SchoolsFirst Federal Credit Union | 19 months19-Month Promotional Share Certificate · Promotional | $500 | Membership required · branches in CA | 4.30% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Travis Credit Union | 18 monthsCertificate Special · Promotional | $500 | Membership required · branches in CA | 4.30% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Patelco Credit Union | 7 monthsCertificate · Promotional | $250 | Membership required · branches in CA | 4.25% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| SAFE 1 Credit Union | 7 monthsRelationship Rewards 7-Month Special Certificate · Relationship | $1,000 | Membership required · branches in CA, TX | 4.25% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Northrop Grumman Federal Credit Union | 36 monthsBonus Certificate · Promotional | $40,000 | Membership required · branches in 10 states | 4.17% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| FIG Credit Union | 60 monthsShare Certificate - Direct Deposit Bonus · Relationship | $100,000 | Membership required · branches in AZ, CA, KS, MI, OK, TX | 4.15% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| LBS Financial Credit Union | 10 monthsPromotional Certificate · Promotional | $1,000 | Membership required · branches in CA | 4.15% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Meriwest Credit Union | 60 months60-Month Certificate · Promotional | $1,000 | Membership required · branches in CA, CO, TX, WA | 4.05% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| 1st United Credit Union (California) | 36 monthsFixed-Rate Regular & IRA Certificate · Standard | $250 | Membership required · branches in CA | 4.00% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Mission Federal Credit Union | 11 months11-Month Flex Promo Certificate · Promotional | $500 | Membership required · branches in CA | 4.00% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Bay Federal Credit Union | 60 monthsCertificate · Standard | $100,000 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.92% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| First Entertainment Credit Union | 60 monthsTerm Savings Certificate · Standard | $100,000 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.85% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Educational Employees Credit Union | 36 monthsShare Certificate · Standard | $100,000 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.76% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Star One Credit Union | 24 monthsCertificate Account · Standard | $2,500 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.75% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Kinecta Federal Credit Union | 60 monthsJumbo Certificate · Standard | $100,000 | Membership required · branches in CA, NY | 3.70% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| NuVision Credit Union | 12 months1-Year Certificate · Standard | $100,000 | Membership required · branches in AK, AZ, CA, WA, WY | 3.55% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| BluPeak Credit Union | 6 monthsBluRipple Term Certificate · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.50% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| DCU (Digital Federal Credit Union) | 12 monthsRegular Certificate · Standard | $500 | Membership required · branches in 9 states | 3.50% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| PenFed Credit Union | 60 monthsMoney Market Certificate · Promotional | $1,000 | Nationwide · membership required | 3.50% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| SAFE Credit Union | 6 months6 Month Certificate Special · Promotional | $500 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.45% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| San Diego County Credit Union | 15 months15-Month Certificate · Promotional | $2,000 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.25% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Pacific Service Credit Union | 60 months5 Year Certificate · Standard | $100,000 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.20% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| San Francisco Federal Credit Union | 60 monthsCertificates · Standard | $1,000 | Membership required · branches in CA | 3.00% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
| Valley Strong Credit Union | 36 months36 Months Share Certificate · Standard | $1,000 | Membership required · branches in CA | 1.51% | October 22, 2026 Source text |
Other California institutions we don't verify yet
These banks and credit unions serve California, but we do not publish their rates, so they are not ranked above. Check their current rates on their own websites.
- Bank OZK Bank · HQ Little Rock, AR We have not found a complete CD rate table on its website that we can verify daily. Checked October 22, 2026. Current rates on www.ozk.com
- Citibank Bank · HQ Sioux Falls, SD Its website blocks automated access, so we cannot verify its rates daily. Checked October 22, 2026. Current rates on www.citi.com
- Financial Partners Credit Union Credit union · HQ Downey, CA Its website blocks automated access, so we cannot verify its rates daily. Checked October 22, 2026. Current rates on fpcu.org
- Sunflower Bank Bank · HQ Dallas, TX We have not found a complete CD rate table on its website that we can verify daily. Checked October 22, 2026. Current rates on www.sunflowerbank.com
Compare with public benchmarks
The highest tracked quote is 5.35% APY for 9 months. The Treasury APY-equivalent for a similar term is 4.48% (2026-10-21). The FDIC national average for a similar term is 1.39% (2026-10-19). Benchmark terms may differ; Treasury interest is exempt from state income tax.
Common questions
Which institution has the highest tracked rate?
Justice Federal Credit Union has the highest APY in this tracked sample of 32 institutions: 5.35% APY for 9 months, verified October 22, 2026.
Who can open these CDs or share certificates?
Check the displayed minimum deposit and location. Credit union membership, new-money and relationship requirements may apply; confirm terms with the institution.
How current are these rates?
Every quote in this collection was verified within the last seven days. Source snapshots and verification dates appear in the table; rates may change before you open an account.
Related pages
Calculate CD interest · Compare CD and Treasury returns after tax · Recent rate changes