Ally Bank vs. Barclays CD Rates — October 2026
Barclays pays more at 2 of the 6 standard terms both offer; Ally Bank pays more at 1. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.75% APY on Barclays's 24-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Ally Bank vs. Barclays: CD rates by term
Each cell is that institution's highest fresh quote for the exact term, across the locations we check. Relationship rates that need another account are left out. Bold marks the higher APY.
| Term | Ally Bank | Barclays | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3-month | 2.90%Not stated min · Standard | —Not offered or not tracked | — |
| 6-month | 4.00%Not stated min · Standard | 4.00%Not stated min · Standard | Tie |
| 9-month | 4.15%Not stated min · Standard | 4.00%Not stated min · Standard | Ally Bank +0.15% |
| 1-year | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | Tie |
| 18-month | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | Tie |
| 2-year | —Not offered or not tracked | 4.75%Not stated min · Standard | — |
| 3-year | 4.25%Not stated min · Standard | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | Barclays +0.25% |
| 4-year | —Not offered or not tracked | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | — |
| 5-year | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | 4.75%Not stated min · Standard | Barclays +0.25% |
Other differences
| Ally Bank | Barclays | |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 57803) | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 57203) |
| Lowest minimum (tracked) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Standard terms tracked | 7 | 8 |
| No-penalty CD | None tracked | None tracked |
| Prices vary by ZIP | No | No |
Membership, new-money and product conditions are not compared here. See each institution's page for opening requirements, early withdrawal penalties and rate history: Ally Bank CD rates · Barclays CD rates.
Common questions
Which has better CD rates, Ally Bank or Barclays?
Barclays pays more at 2 of the 6 standard terms both offer; Ally Bank pays more at 1. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.75% APY on Barclays's 24-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Which has a lower CD minimum deposit, Ally Bank or Barclays?
We could not compare: Ally Bank does not state a minimum on the rates we track.
Are Ally Bank and Barclays CDs insured?
Ally Bank is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 57803) and Barclays is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 57203). Deposits are insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per institution, per ownership category, so splitting a large deposit between the two can raise total coverage.
How current is this comparison?
Both institutions' rate pages are checked daily. Every quote here was verified within the last seven days; the latest on October 26, 2026.