Ally Bank vs. Capital One CD Rates — October 2026
Ally Bank pays more at 6 of the 6 standard terms both offer; Capital One pays more at none. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.50% APY on Ally Bank's 12-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Ally Bank vs. Capital One: CD rates by term
Each cell is that institution's highest fresh quote for the exact term, across the locations we check. Relationship rates that need another account are left out. Bold marks the higher APY.
| Term | Ally Bank | Capital One | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3-month | 2.90%Not stated min · Standard | —Not offered or not tracked | — |
| 6-month | 4.00%Not stated min · Standard | 3.30%Not stated min · Standard | Ally Bank +0.70% |
| 9-month | 4.15%Not stated min · Standard | 3.75%Not stated min · Standard | Ally Bank +0.40% |
| 11-month | —Not offered or not tracked | 4.40%Not stated min · Promotional | — |
| 1-year | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | 4.00%Not stated min · Standard | Ally Bank +0.50% |
| 18-month | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | 3.60%Not stated min · Standard | Ally Bank +0.90% |
| 2-year | —Not offered or not tracked | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | — |
| 3-year | 4.25%Not stated min · Standard | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | Ally Bank +0.75% |
| 4-year | —Not offered or not tracked | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | — |
| 5-year | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | 3.60%Not stated min · Standard | Ally Bank +0.90% |
Other differences
| Ally Bank | Capital One | |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 57803) | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 4297) |
| Lowest minimum (tracked) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Standard terms tracked | 7 | 9 |
| No-penalty CD | None tracked | None tracked |
| Prices vary by ZIP | No | No |
Membership, new-money and product conditions are not compared here. See each institution's page for opening requirements, early withdrawal penalties and rate history: Ally Bank CD rates · Capital One CD rates.
Common questions
Which has better CD rates, Ally Bank or Capital One?
Ally Bank pays more at 6 of the 6 standard terms both offer; Capital One pays more at none. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.50% APY on Ally Bank's 12-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Which has a lower CD minimum deposit, Ally Bank or Capital One?
We could not compare: Ally Bank does not state a minimum on the rates we track.
Are Ally Bank and Capital One CDs insured?
Ally Bank is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 57803) and Capital One is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 4297). Deposits are insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per institution, per ownership category, so splitting a large deposit between the two can raise total coverage.
How current is this comparison?
Both institutions' rate pages are checked daily. Every quote here was verified within the last seven days; the latest on October 26, 2026.