Capital One vs. Synchrony Bank CD Rates — October 2026
Synchrony Bank pays more at 8 of the 9 standard terms both offer; Capital One pays more at 1. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.50% APY on Synchrony Bank's 60-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Capital One vs. Synchrony Bank: CD rates by term
Each cell is that institution's highest fresh quote for the exact term, across the locations we check. Relationship rates that need another account are left out. Bold marks the higher APY.
| Term | Capital One | Synchrony Bank | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 3-month | —Not offered or not tracked | 0.25%Not stated min · Standard | — |
| 6-month | 3.30%Not stated min · Standard | 4.10%Not stated min · Standard | Synchrony Bank +0.80% |
| 9-month | 3.75%Not stated min · Standard | 4.15%Not stated min · Standard | Synchrony Bank +0.40% |
| 11-month | 4.40%Not stated min · Promotional | 0.25%Not stated min · Standard | Capital One +4.15% |
| 1-year | 4.00%Not stated min · Standard | 4.20%Not stated min · Standard | Synchrony Bank +0.20% |
| 18-month | 3.60%Not stated min · Standard | 4.35%Not stated min · Standard | Synchrony Bank +0.75% |
| 2-year | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | 4.35%Not stated min · Standard | Synchrony Bank +0.85% |
| 3-year | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | 4.40%Not stated min · Standard | Synchrony Bank +0.90% |
| 4-year | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | 4.40%Not stated min · Standard | Synchrony Bank +0.90% |
| 5-year | 3.60%Not stated min · Standard | 4.50%Not stated min · Standard | Synchrony Bank +0.90% |
Other differences
| Capital One | Synchrony Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 4297) | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 27314) |
| Lowest minimum (tracked) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Standard terms tracked | 9 | 10 |
| No-penalty CD | None tracked | Yes |
| Prices vary by ZIP | No | No |
Membership, new-money and product conditions are not compared here. See each institution's page for opening requirements, early withdrawal penalties and rate history: Capital One CD rates · Synchrony Bank CD rates.
Common questions
Which has better CD rates, Capital One or Synchrony Bank?
Synchrony Bank pays more at 8 of the 9 standard terms both offer; Capital One pays more at 1. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.50% APY on Synchrony Bank's 60-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Which has a lower CD minimum deposit, Capital One or Synchrony Bank?
We could not compare: Capital One does not state a minimum on the rates we track.
Are Capital One and Synchrony Bank CDs insured?
Capital One is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 4297) and Synchrony Bank is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 27314). Deposits are insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per institution, per ownership category, so splitting a large deposit between the two can raise total coverage.
How current is this comparison?
Both institutions' rate pages are checked daily. Every quote here was verified within the last seven days; the latest on October 26, 2026.