Marcus by Goldman Sachs vs. American Express National Bank CD Rates — October 2026
Marcus by Goldman Sachs pays more at 6 of the 6 standard terms both offer; American Express National Bank pays more at none. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.40% APY on Marcus by Goldman Sachs's 12-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Marcus by Goldman Sachs vs. American Express National Bank: CD rates by term
Each cell is that institution's highest fresh quote for the exact term, across the locations we check. Relationship rates that need another account are left out. Bold marks the higher APY.
| Term | Marcus by Goldman Sachs | American Express National Bank | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6-month | 3.95%$500 min · Standard | —Not offered or not tracked | — |
| 9-month | 4.30%$500 min · Standard | —Not offered or not tracked | — |
| 11-month | —Not offered or not tracked | 3.65%Not stated min · Standard | — |
| 1-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.65%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.75% |
| 18-month | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.65%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.75% |
| 2-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.65%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.75% |
| 3-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 2.25%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +2.15% |
| 4-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 2.25%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +2.15% |
| 5-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.00%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +1.40% |
Other differences
| Marcus by Goldman Sachs | American Express National Bank | |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 33124) | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 27471) |
| Lowest minimum (tracked) | $500 | Not stated |
| Standard terms tracked | 8 | 7 |
| No-penalty CD | None tracked | None tracked |
| Prices vary by ZIP | No | No |
Membership, new-money and product conditions are not compared here. See each institution's page for opening requirements, early withdrawal penalties and rate history: Marcus by Goldman Sachs CD rates · American Express National Bank CD rates.
Common questions
Which has better CD rates, Marcus by Goldman Sachs or American Express National Bank?
Marcus by Goldman Sachs pays more at 6 of the 6 standard terms both offer; American Express National Bank pays more at none. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.40% APY on Marcus by Goldman Sachs's 12-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Which has a lower CD minimum deposit, Marcus by Goldman Sachs or American Express National Bank?
We could not compare: American Express National Bank does not state a minimum on the rates we track.
Are Marcus by Goldman Sachs and American Express National Bank CDs insured?
Marcus by Goldman Sachs is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 33124) and American Express National Bank is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 27471). Deposits are insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per institution, per ownership category, so splitting a large deposit between the two can raise total coverage.
How current is this comparison?
Both institutions' rate pages are checked daily. Every quote here was verified within the last seven days; the latest on October 26, 2026.