Marcus by Goldman Sachs vs. Capital One CD Rates — October 2026
Marcus by Goldman Sachs pays more at 8 of the 8 standard terms both offer; Capital One pays more at none. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.40% APY on Capital One's 11-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Marcus by Goldman Sachs vs. Capital One: CD rates by term
Each cell is that institution's highest fresh quote for the exact term, across the locations we check. Relationship rates that need another account are left out. Bold marks the higher APY.
| Term | Marcus by Goldman Sachs | Capital One | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| 6-month | 3.95%$500 min · Standard | 3.30%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.65% |
| 9-month | 4.30%$500 min · Standard | 3.75%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.55% |
| 11-month | —Not offered or not tracked | 4.40%Not stated min · Promotional | — |
| 1-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 4.00%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.40% |
| 18-month | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.60%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.80% |
| 2-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.90% |
| 3-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.90% |
| 4-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.50%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.90% |
| 5-year | 4.40%$500 min · Standard | 3.60%Not stated min · Standard | Marcus +0.80% |
Other differences
| Marcus by Goldman Sachs | Capital One | |
|---|---|---|
| Insurance | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 33124) | FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 4297) |
| Lowest minimum (tracked) | $500 | Not stated |
| Standard terms tracked | 8 | 9 |
| No-penalty CD | None tracked | None tracked |
| Prices vary by ZIP | No | No |
Membership, new-money and product conditions are not compared here. See each institution's page for opening requirements, early withdrawal penalties and rate history: Marcus by Goldman Sachs CD rates · Capital One CD rates.
Common questions
Which has better CD rates, Marcus by Goldman Sachs or Capital One?
Marcus by Goldman Sachs pays more at 8 of the 8 standard terms both offer; Capital One pays more at none. The highest rate in this comparison is 4.40% APY on Capital One's 11-month CD, verified October 26, 2026.
Which has a lower CD minimum deposit, Marcus by Goldman Sachs or Capital One?
We could not compare: Capital One does not state a minimum on the rates we track.
Are Marcus by Goldman Sachs and Capital One CDs insured?
Marcus by Goldman Sachs is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 33124) and Capital One is an FDIC-insured bank (FDIC 4297). Deposits are insured up to $250,000 per depositor, per institution, per ownership category, so splitting a large deposit between the two can raise total coverage.
How current is this comparison?
Both institutions' rate pages are checked daily. Every quote here was verified within the last seven days; the latest on October 26, 2026.